Justifying the long preparation time for a presentation

I often feel the need to explain things in detail for a presentation.  In order to avoid appearing unprepared, I  spend hours and hours reading the material beforehand. To justify the amount of time I spent on the preparation, I feel like I need to inundate the audience (singular or plural) with all the information I have gathered.

New approach:

  • Synthesize all the information I have gathered into the take-home point for the audience.
  • Start with the take-home point.
  • Let the audience digest the take-home point, and ask questions about the background information.
  • Then sketch the over-arching background information (that I would have presented first in my previous model of presentation)
  • Because I have spent hours and hours reading the material before the presentation, I would be able to answer (hopefully) the detailed questions that may arise.
  • Because I only present the take-home points, the audience will have plenty of time to ask questions about the details and pay attention to them.
  • If audience have no questions, I can formulate my own to lead into the discussion about the details.
About Alexis Chan

https://alexisylchan.wordpress.com/about/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

